Clara Oswald: My Current Fashion Icon

So in case I failed to mention it in my introductory post; I am a pretty big Doctor Who fan. I have been especially taken with Series 6.5 and 7 and the adventures shared between the Eleventh Doctor and his current impossible companion Clara Oswald. In my own opinion Clara is one of the best companions to date: she is smart, independent, funny and has a great sense and style, which brings me to the main point of todays post. From the very beginning when she was Oswin Oswald (excepting the historical episodes), Clara has dressed in a range of cute dresses, usually accessorised with leggings/tights, ankle boots and some kind of jacket. What makes these great is that most of them could be found in shops that people on a normal budget would be able to afford. However, right now practically all of the outfits are sold out, no doubt because of Dr Who fans who like myself wanted to dress like the sparky companion, unfortunately I missed the boat on this, but I still live in hope. And there is always next series. So just for you, in no particular order, is a rundown of my favourite Clara outfits:

1. Nightmare in Silver

Clara-in-Nightmare-in-Silver-clara-oswald-35581888-500-700In this episode Clara wears a Sparkle and Fade Carnation Zip Skirt by Urban Outfitters and an All Saints Axelle Denim Jacket with F-Troupe Wedge Lace Up Ankle Boots and tights. A perfect outfit to kick Cyberman ass and win the heart of Warwick Davis’s Emperor I’m sure you will agree.

2. Journey to the Centre of the Tardis

5128262_origClara’s outfit of choice in this Tardis adventure is the Urban Outfitters Vaudeville & Burlesque fit and flare dress with the addition of a peter pan collar and brown All Saints Jules Biker Boots.

3. The Name of the Doctor

jenna-louise-coleman-and-hobbs-elm-dress-galleryNow tartan isn’t usually my thing, but I could definitely make an exception for this NW3 by Hobbs Elm Dress, especially paired with those wedge boots (F-Troupe again) and black tights. Unfortunately my purse couldn’t make an exception for this dress even if it was still available in shops. This is a rather pricey one, although I’m sure a high street substitute could be found.

4. 50th Anniversary Episode: The Day of the Doctor

tumblr_inline_mvnskbAfFf1qclmihIn the 50th Anniversary Special Clara wears this River Island Bright Tea Dress with the Belstaff Roadmaster Jacket and Alexy Platform Chelsea Boots. Both the jacket and boots are quite expensive (by my standards anyway) so if I was able to find this then cheaper alternatives would have to be found.

5. Hide

d1a70cb8Clara’s ghost busting outfit in this spooky episode includes the Urban Outfitters (seeing a pattern here?) Pins and Needles vintage style ditsy dress, Urban Outfitters Pins and Needles Double-breasted Blazer, black tights, black F-Troupe wedges and a black Barbour Vintage Duralinen Force Parka Jacket to top it off (not pictured).

6. The Time of the Doctor

time-of-the-doctor-batch-a-doctor-who-3In the emotional, much anticipated 11th Doctor’s finale (sob) Clara celebrates Christmas in style with the Karen Millen Check Skirt, New Look Crochet Collar Shirt, Yumi Original Bow Pointelle Cardigan and Metal Trim Boots from Topshop. You can probably tell by the fact that Karen Millen’s name is in the mix that the skirt could well be out of reach, price wise, however, again there are plenty of high street alternatives out there.

Well there you are, my top 6 outfits worn by Clara Oswald. Although many of these pieces are out of stock in shops, they do occasionally pop up on Ebay, although usually for extortionate prices. You just have to keep an eye out and be willing to substitute similar yet more available items.

Until next time.

2 thoughts on “Clara Oswald: My Current Fashion Icon

  1. Nicely done! Good attention to detail. I wish matt’s outfits weren’t so grossly expensive I’d have to open an overseas bank account just to handle the transaction! keep blogging 🙂

    1. Thanks legofilmwhofan1. I know, but with the tweed jackets and frock coats its not going to be cheap. But I suppose it’s reasonable if you want good quality. Still, you can always look for a cheaper alternative. I will and you too.

Leave a Reply

